Camps Bay nestles at the foot of rock buttresses that the early settlers knew first as "Gable Mountains" and later only as the "Twelve Apostles":. Curious indeed as a thorough count of the buttresses would yield a total of eighteen..and they do not even have biblical names. From north to south they are known as Blinkwater Peak, Porcupine, Jubilee, Barrier, Valken, Kasteel, Poster, Woody, Spring, Slangolie, Corridor, Grootkop, Separation, Victoria, Grove, Llundudno Peak, Llundudno Corner and Hout Bay Corner.
Camps Bay the Twelve Apostles
For centuries the foothills of the Apostles had enticed people to settle here. On this narrow coastal plain, Khoikhoi grazed their sheep long before Van Riebeeck permitted the Goringhaiquas in 1657 to live behind the kloof between the Table and Lion mountains along the shore to the south west of the fort. Then the first Dutch farmers arrived and developed the land which was to become known as " Ravensteyn"
Then in 1778 the authorities allowed Fritz von Kamp a German sailor to remain in the Cape. Fortune smile on him when he met a wealthy widow owner of the Ravensteyn farm. The two wed and soon the bay was called " Die Baay van von Kamptz, today's Camps Bay. The first private homes were built in 1828.